persevere (verb)

to persist in anything undertaken; maintain a purpose in spite of difficulty, obstacles, or discouragement; continue steadfastly.

Never confuse a single defeat with a final defeat. ~ F. Scott Fitzgerald

I know in my book that I did not think of every possible thing to do to make an Accidental Sabbatical better. I know I did not think of every hobby or idea; the lists in the book are some things that have worked for me but are certainly not the only tools out there.

So what else is there?

Some of you out there must be better at change and uncertainty than I am. Will you please share your secrets on how you are persevering, either now or how you did so in the past during a period when your life had been changed without your consent?

How do you maintain a positive attitude and stay joyful? Do you find three things to be grateful for and count your blessings every day and that works every time?

There is really only one thing that helps me absolutely every single day. Living right now, just today… not wasting time or energy thinking about yesterday or the past… not losing today’s daylight worrying about tomorrow. That helps me maintain purpose.

I wrote in my journal first thing this morning: What am I going to do today to make a difference? What part will I play in His story? Just today.

I need your help! How about you? What do you do?

***

